Hotels.com sued over accessibility

IJust picked this up on Outlaw.com Interestingly the online travel company which aledgedly treats accessible hotel rooms as an optional extra because it won’t guarantee reservations for accessible rooms via its Website isn’t being challenged under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) because of previous rulings under that legislation which have brought in to questions its applicability to the Web. Very worrying.

It's an interesting area, companies who make 'special provision' but then offer this on less favourable terms, and one which I'd like to see tested. A situation which I am currently experiencing myself is raising just this question. Vodafone.co.uk offer visually impaired clients a mobile screenreader free of charge on compatible phones. However in order to get the package you can only buy your contract in store, not via there Website from where discount call plans are available. In short if I want the software I must forgo the three months half price line rental and 10% discount for the duration of the contract. Less favourable terms? I think so. One possible solution which has been put on the table is that I buy my package on the Website, take the handset in to the store who will then send it off for the software to be installed, have it returned to the store from where I can collect it one week later. This seems a little long winded given that I can easily download and install the software myself, all I would require from Voda is the licence code.

So the questions I am asking myself,

"Is this a reasonable adjustment?".

and if not

Given that I am saving the £150 it would cost me to buy the software myself (which is more than I stand to lose by purchasing from the highstreet rather than online) would persuing the matter in courts (if a satisfactory solution were not found) be looking a gift horse in the mouth.

or

actually is the bigger picture what counts?

you can't treat someone less favourably on the grounds of disability

Even if you are, offering, a bespoke service.

4 Responses to “Hotels.com sued over accessibility”

  1. E-Access Blog » Blog Archive » technology and reasonable adjustments, boundaries blur Says:

    […] just read this post on the hotels.com case and comment on what might constitute a reasonable adjustment when a company […]

  2. deensarenty Says:

    Follow these guidelines and you will build that new home with little, or no, problems. kitchen milwaukee remodeling can help…

  3. Wiilysfnd Says:

    You have the natural advantage in debt settlement company , which may be appropriate for debtors with …
    Great Solution

  4. Samuel L. Says:

    The topic is quite hot on the Internet right now. What do you pay the most attention to while choosing what to write ?

Leave a Reply

